Events Archive Dec 2008

Grassroots Interface Meeting for Electricity Reforms

CUTS with the support of the Norwegian Agency for Development Cooperation (NORAD) is undertaking an initiative over two years (2008- 2010) in Nepal, Bangladesh, and two states of India (West Bengal and Rajasthan) to build capacity of consumer groups/ civil society organizations (CSOs) to enable them to deal with the issues involved, take-up action research, share experiences, and carryout advocacy with policymakers and regulatory agencies to effect pro-consumer changes in the electricity regulatory/policy processes. The project is being implemented in association with local partner rganized ons across project territories. Under the project, Grassroots Interface Meetings (GIMs) were rganized in each of the project territories. CUTS CHD rganized a GIM at the Centre on December 11, 2008. The purpose of the meeting was to appreciate the role played by different stakeholders in electricity reforms and pass on the advocacy skills to them to enhance the efficiency to continue their good work.

Bhilwara NABARD PIMC Meeting

NABARD, Bhilwara Project Implementation and Monitoring Committee (PIMC) meeting was held at Panchayat Samiti Hall, Mandalgarh, Bhilwara on December 18, 2008 in which HS Shekhawat, District Development Manager (DDM)-NABARD, Bhilwara; JL Suthar, Lead District Manager (LDM), Bank of Baroda, Bhilwara; GS Johari, Chief Manager, Bank of Rajasthan; MK Gupta, Bank of Rajasthan; AK Kathuria, Manager, Baroda Rajasthan Grameen Bank, Barundni; and ML Rathore, Manager, Baroda Rajasthan Grameen Bank attended the meeting.

The purpose of the meeting was to review the progress of NABARD funded SHG project. Amit Chowdhury, CUTS Coordinator updated the committee representatives about the project. Shekhawat explained participants about NABARD SHGs work and appreciated CUTS’ initiative.

Chittorgarh NABARD PIMC Meeting

NABARD, Chittorgarh PIMC meeting was held at CUTS CHD on December 22, 2008. Sudhanshu Kumar, DDMNABARD, Chittorgarh; NK Sanidhya, LDM, Bank of Baroda, Chittorgarh; Mathura Prasad, Managing Director, Cooperative Bank, Chittorgarh; and AK Surana, Manager, State Bank of Bikaner and Jaipur, Chittorgarh attended the meeting.

The purpose of the meeting was to review the progress of NABARD funded SHG project in which CUTS CHD staff updated committee members about the project. The committee suggested to start inter-loaning among group members and assured full cooperation in opening bank accounts. The committee members also suggested drawing a plan for livelihood opportunities for SHG members.

Consultation Workshop on National Consumer Day

A consultation workshop was organized at CHD during the National Consumer Day on Dec 24 with the logistic support from District Supply Office, Chittorgarh. The national theme for the consumer day this time was “Sajag Upbhokta, Surakshit Upbhokta”. Dr Samit Sharma, District Collector, Chittorgarh, Giri Raj Prashad, President, District Consumer Forum, Jai Prakash, Agarwal, DSO, Rajeshwri Meena, Pradhan, Chandra Kanta Tripathi, Additional District Education Officer (Secondary), Narbada Bhawe, Additional District Education Officer (Primary), Advocate – Chandmal Garg & Rajhnish Pitliya, Social worker – Gangadhar Solanki, Dinesh Joshi and Mathura Prasad Jat, Managing Diretor, Cooperative Bank attended the workshop. Hundred & eight participants attended the workshop. Samit Sharma requested participants to support the consumer movement of CUTS. Speaking on the use of generic medicine, Mr Sharma stressed on using generic medicine and shared his plan to develop Chittorgarh as model district. Other participants also shared their opinion on consumer issues and requested district administration to take action against people who are using wrong means to fool consumers. During the function, Mr Sharma gifted a sewing machine to Hussain Bibi, a physically challenged woman to start her own enterprise. The District Supply Office also awarded four social workers along with CUTS-CHD for their valuable contribution in helping consumers to get justice. Bhagwan Lal Sharma (Social worker), Vishnu Kumar Kumawat (Social Worker), Ravi Jadhav (Officer, District Supply Office), Amit Chowdhury (on behalf of CUTS) and Giriraj Prasad Gupta (President – District Consumer Forum) were awarded for their contribution.